The Stone Carriage House, tucked away on 11 acres mere minutes from Millbrook Village, has been a secluded retreat for nearly 100 years. Built in 1920 by the Alfred B. Maclay family, this unique home is full of mystery and magic. Originally the carriage house to the Maclay estate, the house is discovered at the end of a long driveway, surrounded by copper beech trees, Korean dogwoods, French lilacs, and herb and flower gardens. A peaceful hideaway with absolute privacy, the Stone Carriage House offers long views to the Taconic and Berkshire ranges to the northwest from its many windows and expansive wraparound deck. Soft breezes waft gently through the open summertime windows in every room. Central to the home is a dramatic large room reminiscent of a French country house, with an entire wall of eight carriage doors. This communal space opens to the garden whose flagstones are stitched with patches of sweet thyme. A spacious living and dining space and country kitchen share this original high-ceilinged carriage room. Floors of waxed cement and cobblestones and thick walls of hand-laid stone lined with plaster create cool in the summer and cozy warmth in the winter. Numerous woods imported from the Maclay's Florida estate are used throughout the house, including southern pine, mahogany, and oak. There are three bedrooms downstairs, a primary suite upstairs including large sitting room with kitchenette, a library, and two offices. There are more closets, built-in shelves, cupboards, and storage than anyone could dream of in a century old house. Foxglove, lilies, irises, clematis, lavender, grape arbors, apple orchard, and an espaliered apple tree along the south wall provide country beauty through horticultural diversity. 24 hour notice required for accompanied showings.